Friday, April 11, 2014

The After-Tchaik 6

There is speculation that Tchaikovsky composed his Sixth Symphony as a suicide note.  It is an incredible work: powerful, light-hearted, jovial, with a last movement that is unapologetically passionate and brokenhearted.  It is one of the few symphonies that dares to end quietly, leaving the performers and the audience in a dark, empty, still space.  Applause usually waits for the breath to reawaken as we realize we are still living.

We die in agonized despair together.  What comes after that?

It turns out it's a Strauss Polka.  Two of them actually.  Life goes on, it seems.  Let the good times roll.

No comments:

Post a Comment